10 June, 2007

Protein bar recipe

Posted in Fat loss, Nutrition, Recipe, Weight Gain, Weight Loss at 12:00 pm by comaboy

I don’t like many of the protein bars on sale, which is a shame because they’re a convenient way to get extra meals in and keep your metabolism nice and high. There is quite a nice alternative however, at least for anyone without nut allergies! They’re pretty high in calories which is great as a post workout snack when you’re trying to gain muscle, especially since it has a nice combination of high and low GI carbs with a sizable bit of protein. They’re pretty quick to make and keep well for quite a while.

Ingredients:

  • 1 jar of peanut butter, crunchy or smooth depending on taste
  • 1 cup of oats
  • 1 cup of whey protein, i used vanilla but plain works just as well
  • 1 handful of mixed nuts
  • 1 handful of dates
  • 2 tablespoons of set honey

First of all I mix the peanut butter and honey in a microwaveable bowl, then heat for 45 seconds, stir and heat for another 45 seconds. This should produce a nice runny mixture in the bowl.

Next drop the dates and nuts into a blender until there are no big lumps left, and mix into the peanut butter, being careful not to burn yourself if it’s still hot. Finally add the whey protein and oats, and mix until everything is blended. I found this much easier when I stopped trying to do it with a wooden spoon and used my hands to kneed the mixture. The mixture will then hopefully be of a dough like consistency, neither dry nor runny.

Finally, add the mixture into containers. I like to use the plastic ones from old Chinese takeaways but any flat bottom container will do. Put this into a fridge and chill overnight. Once chilled, cut into slices and wrap in either cling film or tin foil and store in the fridge.

Here’s a couple left over from the last batch I made.

If you want you can use a mix of whey proteins, I like to mix fast absorbing whey protein with Micellar Casein protein, combined with the slow and fast carbs from the dates and the oats it gives both an initial insulin boost with plenty of fast protein plus a longer lasting effect. This is great for recovering from a workout as the insulin spike should help get valuable nutrients back into your muscles to help repair them. I get my protein from myprotein.co.uk I find them to be great quality and really good value, they even run a pricematch comparison so if you can beat their prices they’ll match it. If you want to order from them, use the code MP10349 for a 5% discount and I’ll get a little off my future orders, so everybody’s a winner!


11 Comments »

  1. Lady Rose said,

    Looks like a great recipe – I’m hosting a healthy recipe blog carnival if you want to submit your post I think it would be a great addition to the next carnival edition. I use Extend Bars – they have 150 calories, 11 grams of protein, 0 sugar, and specially designed to keep blood sugar level for up to 9 hours. They have really helped me a lot to keep hunger down. I have for breakfast and lunch along with a piece of fruit. I might try to make my own though – this recipe looks good. Any idea how many calories it is per serving and how many servings it is? Lady Rose

  2. comaboy said,

    I cut mine quite big (~140 to150 grams), since these are usually used as a post-workout meal and they contain something like 500 calories! If you cut them to the size of an extend bar at 40 grams the calories are about the same. The servings depends on how you cut it, I think this came to a 5000 calorie total, but would easily make 35 small bars.
    I’ll take up your offer of submitting a recipe, but I will alter the recipe slightly since this one is designed for a specific purpose. I don’t think it would be too hard to make a whole food homemade version!

  3. Thanks for the recipe, I will try this out.

  4. so many healthy recipes to choose from on the internet:’,

  5. when i cook at home, i always make sure that i only cook healthy recipes because i don’t want to get fat ~,’

  6. Mark Wolfs---- said,

    It would be cool if someone could take this recipie & add uncooked raw corn starch, and maybe take away some of the fast crbs to make an extend bar equivalent bed time snack.

  7. london 2012 said,

    Nowadays to find a similar Efficient and Effective SEO Automation software at one Time payment of US 99-00 is a rarity\

  8. Boyd Brettmann said,

    I like to take whey protein because it is easily absorbed by the body unlike Casein. ..

    <a href="Most up-to-date brief article on our very own web site
    http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/inner-ear-infection/

  9. Ivana Defrank said,

    Very true, Emre. I think Apple should also condemn the actions of the stupid 15 year old boy who LIED about his age to join the so-called app. It takes two to tango, you know. The responsibility should lie on BOTH parties. If I was the parent, I would put the boy to military school. Or he should face trial in juvenile court for his actions.

  10. smartphone said,

    It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you few interesting things or tips. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article. I wish to read more things about it!

  11. Kraig said,

    ‘ 3 to 4 canned pear halves drained (canned in its own juice).
    Otherwise, those disease-related enemy soldiers will be
    knocking at your door.


Leave a Reply

